FSPC Council President reelected in a clear vote for the 2015-2018 legislative term

The FSPC Assembly of Delegates met from June 15 – 18, 2014 in Scuol in Canton Graubünden, and elected the Council, its executive organ, for the 2015-2018 term. Council President Gottfried Locher and four Council members were reelected. Rita Famos and Kristin Rossier-Buri did not run for reelection and were replaced by Esther Gaillard (Canton Vaud) and Daniel Reuter (Canton Zurich).

Gottfried Locher, who has served as FSPC Council President since January 2011, was granted a further four-year mandate at the helm of the FSPC in a decisive vote by the roughly 70 members of Assembly of Delegates.

One major challenge for the coming Council term will lie in continued work on a revision of the FSPC constitution. The new constitution should serve as a solid foundation for the Protestant churches of Switzerland in carrying out their work in the years to come.

Esther Gaillard is the President of the Synod of the Evangelical Reformed Church of the Canton of Vaud, and was nominated by her church and the Conférence des Eglises réformées romandes (CER), representing Reformed churches in the French-speaking area of Switzerland. Daniel Reuter is currently the Vice President of the Assembly of Delegates and Synodal Council of the Evangelical Reformed Church of the Canton of Zurich, which nominated him. The candidates were presented at the Assembly from a variety of angles, including their interests and activities. Esther Gaillard is, for example, a winemaker and oenologist, while Daniel Reuter is the president of the Swiss Society for the Promotion of Beer Diversity. The vote should therefore make for some lively conversations during Council meeting breaks.