FSPC to launch 13 national projects related to Reformation Jubilee until 2018

During their Fall Assembly, held November 3 and 4 in the City Hall of Bern, the Delegates of the Federation of Swiss Protestant Churches (FSPC) passed a resolution to launch 13 FSPC projects related to the Reformation Jubilee between 2014 and 2018 and to set aside an extraordinary budget of CHF 400 000 for this purpose.

One of the projects is a national convention in June 2017 to discuss the legacy of the Reformation and its impact on the history, culture and society of Switzerland. Other projects include a Protestant youth festival, a meeting of synod members from all over Europe, participation in the Reformation World Exhibition of the Evangelical Church in Germany (EKD), as well as participation in the “European Reformation Cities” project by the Community of Protestant Churches in Europe (CPCE).

At the Assembly of Delegates, the project “Mit 40 Thesen auf dem Weg” (“On our way with 40 theses”) was launched on the website of the Reformation Jubilee, www.ref-500.ch. The FSPC wants to draft “our theses for the Gospel today” on all levels – from the parish to the national level. For this endeavor, material of a corresponding project by the Eglise Protestante Unie de France (EPUdF) was adopted and adapted. The project alludes to Martin Luther’s 95 theses of 1517, the beginning of the Reformation movement in Europe. The FSPC is inviting Swiss Reformed Christians to participate. The theses can be downloaded or ordered in printed form at www.ref-500.ch.

Some days ago, the FSPC Council elected the Jubilee Committee of the “500 Years of Reformation” project in Switzerland. Headed by FSPC Council Member Daniel de Roche, the 12 person panel will be in charge of implementing the FSPC projects related to the Reformation Jubilee.

The elected committee members are: Christina Aus der Au and Martin Breitenfeldt (ZH), Franz Christ (BS), Daniel de Roche and Serge Fornerod (FSPC), Pia Grossholz-Fahrni (BEJUSO), Charlotte Kuffer (GE), Remo Sangiorgio (TI), Matthias Spiess (SEA/VFG), Simon Weber (VD), Frank Worbs (AG).