FSPC to award Sermon Award in Reformation Jubilee year

“Think open, act free, believe anew” – under this motto, the official motto of the Reformation Jubilee, the Federation of Swiss Protestant Churches will present the 2nd Swiss Sermon Award, which includes a prize of CHF 3,000. All information can be found at www.schweizer-predigtpreis.ch.

In the Protestant churches of Switzerland, more than two thousand preachers ascend the pulpit every Sunday to bear witness to the word of God and to reflect on the meaning of the Gospel for today. “The sermon is a comprehensive work of art – an artistic synthesis of theology, personal wisdom and eloquence,” said FSPC President Gottfried Locher: “With the Sermon Award, the FSPC wants to honor and promote the art of the sermon.”

The Swiss Sermon Award is presented in two language categories: for sermons in German or Romansh and sermons in French or Italian. One jury each will choose the recipient of the Sermon Award. The Swiss Sermon Award comes with a total prize of 3,000 Swiss Francs and will be presented on November 6, 2017, in Bern.

A sermon’s place is in the parish’s worship service in the context of a liturgical framework, as well as in the parish’s everyday reality. Therefore, the FSPC is looking for sermons that already have been held at the time of submission. Everyone with a mandate to deliver sermons in a parish is invited to participate.

For the jury of German and Romansh Switzerland, the following jurors have been confirmed: Caroline Schröder Field (Basel, 2014 Recipient, Chairperson), Andrea Bieler (Basel), Lucas Zapf (Basel-Lugano), Ruedi Heinzer (Spiez), Cornelia Camichel Bromeis (Davos-Platz), Esther Krättli (Chur).

For the jury of French and Italian Switzerland, the following jurors have been confirmed: Jean-Luc Blondel (Nyon, Chairperson), Olivier Bauer (Lausanne), Carmen Burkhalter (Neuchâtel), Simon Butticaz (Lausanne), Simona Rauch (Vicosoprano), Paolo Tognina (Manno).

All information and eligibility requirements at www.schweizer-predigtpreis.ch (in German and French).